Blind Cricket League T10 Finals at IIMB

Last Sunday saw the finals of the fourth season of the Blind Cricket League T10 at IIM Bangalore’s cricket ground. The event was organized by IDL Foundation, an organization working towards the holistic development of disabilities and was co-hosted by Vikasana and Sports Council.

The final was the culmination of three days of intense cricketing action from over 320 visually impaired athletes from 16 districts of Karnataka. The participants comprised of completely visually impaired, partially visually impaired and people with low vision. The funds raised from the event will be used towards providing accommodation and education facilities to the visually impaired youth. The elimination rounds, held at the BEL Grounds had the teams from Chikkamagaluru and Mundgod Haveri emerging as the finalists.

The finals had teams from Chikkamagaluru and Mundgod districts vying for the honours in an intensely contested match.  Chikkamagaluru won the toss and elected to field. They struck early with the first wicket falling when the scoreboard was on seven runs. The second wicket stand of 53 runs between Ravi and Guddappa steadied the ship and Mundgod went on to score 95 runs in their stipulated 10 overs. Anup was the pick of the bowlers for Chikkamagaluru returning with figures of 2/16 in 2 overs.

Chasing a target of 96 to win, Chikkamagaluru had a jittery start with their opener Shavaad departing for 4. But Naveen spoiled Mundgod’s party with a knock of 71 runs from just 21 balls that involved 10 fours and 4 sixes. One of his sixes flew into the gallery breaking a chair right next to where yours truly was sitting. The match winning innings from Naveen saw Chikkamagaluru chasing down the target with three overs to spare. The winning runs were scoured off a boundary and the Chikkamagaluru ran on to the field in celebration and carried Naveen around the ground in a lap of honour. Naveen was adjudged the man of the match for his efforts.

Post the match, all the 16 participating teams were awarded medals as tokens of appreciation of their unassailable sportsmanship. The Director of IIMB, Prof. Raghuram and Dr Paul, the founder of IDL Foundation, presented the winner’s trophy to the team from Chikkamagaluru. The winners as well as all the participants were felicitated by Miss Komala Devi, the hostel administrative officer, Aswathi, the secretary of Vikasana and Ganesh GA, the secretary of sports council.

Though Chikkamagaluru were crowned champions, all the participating teams walked out as winners with their spirit of sportsmanship drawing admiration and adulations from everyone present.


Media Cell IIMB is the student run outreach and communication committee of IIM Bangalore dedicated to form the bridge within the student community and the outside world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.